• Français
  • Italiano
  • Русский


Kairouan flourished under the Aghlabid dynasty in the 9 century and founded in 670. Kairouan bears unique witness to the first centuries of this civilisation and its architectural and urban development. Despite the transfer of the political capital to Tunis in the 12 centuries, Kairouan remained the Maghreb principal holy city. Kairouan is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.


The medina and its suburbs are an urban ensemble presenting all the components of an arabo-muslim town. The medina comprises juxtaposed dwellings divided into quarters separated by narrow and winding streets, it is surrounded by ramparts that extend over more than 3 km.

The Great Mosque

Rebuilt in the 9 centuries, is not only one of the major monuments of Islam but also a universal architectural masterpiece. She is served as a model for several Maghreban mosques, particularly for its decorative motifs, which are unique.  Moreover, the Mosque of the Three Doors, built in 866 ADS, is the oldest known Islamic mosque with a sculpted facade.

Road transport
Located about 61 km of Enfidha, 69 km of Monastir and 158 km of Tunis.
«Indiana Jones»
© Tunisian International Studios 2021 / All rights reserved.
To top